• 7/10
    BURNING POINT - Empyre - 7/10


Metal Heaven
Release date: February 27, 2009

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Finnish Power Metalers of Burning Point are back with their fourth studio effort. The band started out in 1999, and has had a few line-up changes since then. Their new album, Empyre, marks a change for the band in two ways; four members of the band took part in the songwriting and the style is more “back-to-the-80s” type of Metal.

From the second you press play you know that this CD won’t offer much originality. The tones from the music box that’s starting the instrumental cover of “The Godfather Theme” says it all. However, the songs that follow are of great 80s Power Metal quality, and the production, courtesy of the band themselves, is top notch.

The album was mastered at the famous Finnvox Studios and the cover art was made by Felipe Machado Franco (Iced Earth, Axel Rudi Pell, Blaze Bayley).

There is no doubt about the individual skills of the members of Burning Point. It’s also very easy to hear each instrument in the very open mix. Most impressive is, perhaps, drummer Jussi Ontero’s footwork throughout the album. He is steady and adds a little extra at times. The drum sound is excellent, and it’s mixed with the 80s spirit in mind with lots of reverb on every drum.

The guitar sound is very likeable and round, but with the sufficient amount of edge that this type of Metal guitar needs. When it comes to the solos they are clear as day and they’re also very melodic.

The keyboards are often dominated by organ sounds, something that really fits the 80s sound. There’s nothing special going on with the keys, they just help the bass and the rhythm guitars build a good foundation for the songs. The same goes for the bass that, with the exception of the more balladic songs, just follow the guitar lines.

Vocalist Pete Ahonen has a characteristic voice. He’s vocal range seems a bit limited, and he very often sticks to the range where he sounds best, which is a wise choice. Often he doubles himself and with this creates a bit more dynamic for the vocals.

The title track, “Manic Merry-Go-Round,” “Face The Truth,” “Cruel World” and “Blinded By The Darkness” are the real highlights of this album, and though they were off to a bad start with the cliché of covering “The Godfather Theme” they redeemed themselves with a bunch of other great songs.

For those who are looking for a bit more originality, this album will become boring and maybe a little bit too predictable after the first few songs, but for those who love 80s styled Metal, Empyre will be a highly appreciated blast from the past. You will also be happy to know that Burning Point are releasing their first ever DVD in 2009.

Burning Point are

Pete Ahonen – Vocals and guitars
Pekka Kolivuori – Guitars
Jukka Jokikokko – Bass
Pasi Hiltula – Keyboards
Jussi Ontero – Drums


  • Kristian Singh-Nergård

    Kristian is one of the partners at Metal Express Radio. He is Metal Express Radio's Marketing and Communications Manager, and on occasions also reviewer and photographer. Based out of Oslo, Norway, Kristian is a bass player and owner of the independent record label Pug-Nose Records. He has been a proud member of the Metal Express Radio crew since 2006.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.