NUCLEAR POWER TRIO – Wet Ass Plutonium

Nuclear Power Trio - Wet Ass Plutonium album cover.
  • 8.6/10
    NUCLEAR POWER TRIO - Wet Ass Plutonium - 8.6/10


Label: metal Blades Records
Release date: July 28, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

For those of us who are into super-shredding Prog/Fusion/Metal with a taste of political satire, this new release from Colorado based Nuclear Power Trio will certainly hit the spot. As the follow up to 2020’s A Clear and Present Rager, the new album Wet Ass Plutonium is a collection of nine over the top instrumentals that kick serious ass. Though the band members like to remain anonymous using their nicknames Kimmy, Donny, and Vladi P., this reviewer has tracked them down. The band is comprised of drummer Pete Webber (Fear Factory, Havok) as Kim Jong-un, guitarist Greg Burgess (Allegaeon, Cryogen) as Donald Trump, and bassist Nick Schendzielos (Cephalic Carnage, Havok) as Vladimir Putin.

About the Album

Nuclear Power Trio – Wet Ass Plutonium is an incredible collection of instrumentals that truly showcase the talent of the band. Every song has its own mood and theme, and every song allows each band member to show their stuff. The silly titles show the sense of humor of the band, and the performances show the awesome musical skills that each band member brings to the table.

Final Notes

Instrumental albums aren’t for everyone (to some people’s great loss), but in the case of Nuclear Power Trio – Wet Ass Plutonium, they should be. While the songs have elements of Heavy Metal, they lean more towards Fusion and Prog. The concept is fun, and funny, even if the image of “Donny” doesn’t quite look like the infamous Donald Trump. We certainly won’t hold that against these dudes, and on the contrary recommend this album highly. Fans of John Petrucci, Dream Theater, Sons of Apollo, and all Prog/Fusion/Metal blends will absolutely love this album.

Nuclear Power Trio band photo - 2023

Nuclear Power Trio – Lineup

  • Supreme Drums: Kimmy (Pete Webber – As Kim Jong-un)
  • Tremendous Guitar: Donny (Greg Burgess – As Donald Trump)
  • KGBass: Vladi P (Nick Schendzielos – As Vladimir Putin)

Wet Ass Plutonium – Track Listings

  1. W.A.P. (Wet Ass Plutonium)
  2. Apocalypse Mao
  3. Nyetflix and Chill
  4. Air Force Fun
  5. Snark Side of the Un
  6. ­¡Vamos, Brandito!
  7. Anti-Saxxers (Mandatory Saxination)
  8. Critical Bass Theory
  9. Red Scare Bear Stare


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.