METALLICA – 72 Seasons

METALLICA - 72 Seasons artwork
  • 8.5/10
    METALLICA - 72 Seasons - 8.5/10


Label: Blackened Recordings
Release date: April 14, 2023

User Review
6.13/10 (4 votes)

The past few years have been eventful for Bay Area Thrash legends Metallica. In the past seven years, Metallica has released two studio albums, a live album in S&M 2, celebrated their 40th anniversary as a band, headlined numerous festivals as well as extensive touring. While many questioned Metallica’s future after their front man James Hetfield went to rehab in late 2019 in regard to his struggle with alcohol, Metallica’s new album 72 Seasons shows that Metallica still have plenty to offer to their fans and aren’t going anywhere.

72 Seasons showcases Metallica’s Black Sabbath influence mostly noticeable in the album’s closing track “Inamorata” as well as Crown of Barbed Wire”, which not to say there aren’t any songs that take Metallica back to their Thrash roots with faster anthems such as “Too Far Gone” and “Room of Mirrors.” With such variety, you could say Metallica takes the best of everything they’ve done since 1991.

Music-wise, Metallica sounds great with a lot of notable guitar work between James Hetfield and Kirk Hammett, while bassist Robert Trujillo (who also boasts some killer backing vocals on the song “You Must Burn!”) and drummer Lars Ulrich shine in the rhythm section.

72 Seasons surely follows up nicely to 2016’s Hardwired… To Self-Destruct and offers something to Metallica fans that enjoyed all things good from the band’s work from 1991 and on. For those who liked the first four singles off this release, you are surely in for a treat with 72 Seasons. For anyone that is hesitant on 72 Seasons because of the first four singles, you will find more variety with the rest of the album.

Can fans expect Master of Puppets? No, but can fans expect more great years from Metallica based off 72 Seasons? Yes!

Album Tracklist

  1. 72 Seasons
  2. Shadows Fallow
  3. Screaming Suicide
  4. Sleeping My Life Away
  5. You Must Burn
  6. Lux Æterna
  7. Crown of Barbed Wire
  8. Chasing Light
  9. If Darkness Had a Son
  10. Too Far Gone?
  11. Room of Mirrors
  12. Inamorata


  • Matt Zaniboni

    Matthew is an interviewer here at Metal Express Radio. He started his passion for music journalism back in his college radio days serving as the Heavy Metal Director at WKKL out of Hyannis Massachusetts. During Matt’s tenure in radio, he has had time working for commercial stations in Boston Massachusetts such as WAAF, WZLX AND 98.5 The Sports Hub before landing with Metal Express Radio. Anytime you want to talk heavy Metal, hockey, Guiness, and dad life, Matt is your guy m/

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.