PERSUADER – Necromancy

PERSUADER - Necromancy
  • 8.5/10
    PERSUADER - Necromancy - 8.5/10


Frontiers Records
Release date: December 4, 2020

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Convincing Power Metal

As Sweden’s Persuader releases their 5th studio album, fans are treated to an aggressive 7 songs of refined Power Metal that stands out as their best effort to date. Fronted by Jens Carlsson on vocals with Emil Norberg (ex-Dark Empire) and Fredrik Mannberg (Nocturnal Rites) deftly handling guitars as Efraim Juntunen returns on the drums. Persuader is back with a vengeance, as Necromancy delivers a definite punch in the face that continues from start to finish.

Relentless Metal

“This release will mark the beginning of a new chapter for us and we look forward to working together for many more albums in the future,” states Emil Norberg. “The new album is probably our most aggressive album to date, without sacrificing melody. It also marks our first album with guitarist Fredrik Mannberg (Nocturnal Rites) and it is safe to safe that we are delighted to have his fierce songwriting skills and proven stage presence in our ranks.” Indeed, the songwriting is strong and very captivating throughout the album. With such a talented lineup, the future looks very bright for Persuader.

Outstanding Songs

As to be expected the opening track “The Curse Unbound” hits you in the face and leaves a mark. The mixture of Thrash and Power Metal works to great effect as the song weaves in and out of different high speed tempos with ease. The follow up track “Scars” brings more of the same, adding a sweet chorus to the mix that breaks things up nicely. “Raise the Dead” has some mind boggling drumming that drives it forward like a speeding bullet train, driving this catchy tune into your skull.

Final Notes

With a total of 7 songs clocking in at under 50 minutes, Necromancy feels like the perfect length album. The production is extremely tight, and the musical performances stunning. The songs all have depth and variety, which makes this another great release to add to your Power Metal collection. Support bands by purchasing their product, that way our favorite bands can keep us entertained into the future.

Persuader - Band Photo


Jens Carlsson – Vocal
Emil Norberg – Guitar
Fredrik Mannberg – Guitar
Efraim Juntunen – Drums

Necromancy – Tracklist

  1. The Curse Unbound
  2. Scars
  3. Raise the Dead
  4. Reign of Darkness
  5. Hells Command
  6. Gateways
  7. The Infernal Fires


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.