at The Depot, Salt Lake City, UT, USA, February 25, 2019

NOTHING MORE (Live at The Depot, Salt Lake City, UT, USA, February 25, 2019)
Photo: Jerry Alperin

Grammy nominated band Nothing More pulled into Salt Lake City’s The Depot on their The Truth tour and was met by a SOLD OUT crowd filled with different people, from different backgrounds, ethnicities, political affiliations, and age. The night opened with a bang as they began their 18 song setlist (see below) with “Let ’em Burn” off their 2017 Album The Stories We Tell Ourselves followed by “Christ Copyright” off their 2014 self titled album Nothing More.

Fueled by the energy of the crowd , the band continued their already powerful set with such songs as “Go to War,” “Do you really want it,“ “Mr MTV” and “Here’s to the heartache” which is the first time they played this song during this tour. As well as “Jenny” a song that was inspired by Jonny Hawkins aunt, who struggles with schizophrenia and his sister Jenna who struggles with bipolar disorder. The band used the song, and respective music video, to help raise awareness and money for mental illness.

Between the powerful voice of Jonny Hawkins, rumbling bass of Daniel Oliver, pounding drums of Ben Anderson and the heavy guitar riffs from Mark Vollelunga, it was easy to get carried away in the moment. The mosh pit was in full swing when the band really surprised the fans with well done covers of Queen’s “We Will Rock You” and Skrillex “First of The Year” which really spotlighted their versatility. Ending the night with the song “Salem” from their 2009 album The Few Not Fleeting was a perfect way round out the set.

Supported on this tour by the bands Of Mice and Men, Badflower and Palisades, this is a must see show of 2019.


  1. Let ’em Burn
  2. Christ Copyright
  3. Don’t Stop
  4. Funny Little Creatures
  5. Go to War
  6. Do You Really Want It?
  7. The Great Divorce
  8. Still in Love
  9. Mr. MTV
  10. Jenny
  11. Tunnels
  12. Here’s to the Heartache
  13. Fade in/Fade out
  14. Ocean Floor
  15. This Is the Time (Ballast)
  16. We Will Rock You
  17. First of the Year (Equinox)
  18. Salem (Burn the Witch)


  • Jerry Alperin

    Jerry is a reviewer, photographer and interviewer here at Metal Express Radio. Originally from the East Coast, he always wanted to find a warmer climate to call home. Fortunately for him, he wound up in San Francisco where the people are colorful, the sushi is delicious and the music diverse. He has been involved in the music industry in one form or another for over 30 years.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.