• 6.5/10
    BLACKMORE'S NIGHT - Secret Voyage - 6.5/10


Release date: June 15, 2008

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Ritchie Blackmore is most famous for his work with Deep Purple and Rainbow. A few years ago, Ritchie took a leap and formed Blackmore’s Night, a Renaissance-themed band of merry musicians. Since its inception, Blackmore’s Night has released seven albums, featuring many different musicians. Blackmore’s Night is now celebrating a new album called Secret Voyage.

In a lot of respects, it seems odd that someone known for heavier Rock music would have such a deep passion for the Renaissance. While Blackmore’s Night is a gimmick on some levels – the band works. The vocals of Candice Night are strong and believable. Yes, the songs are not what you would hear on the radio, but the tracks are pleasant.

The track listing for Secret Voyage:

  1. God Save The Keg
  2. Locked Within The Crystal Ball
  3. Gilded Cage
  4. Toast To Tomorrow
  5. Prince Waldeck’s Galliard
  6. Rainbow Eyes
  7. The Circle
  8. Sister Gypsy
  9. Can’t Help Falling In Love
  10. Peasant’s Promise
  11. Far Far Away
  12. Empty Words

So what is good? “The Circle” is especially strong. The song features nice harmonizing on Night’s part. “Locked Within the Crystal Ball” has some of the signature Blackmore guitar licks we’ve been craving. The song illustrates that Blackmore’s Night could go just a little heavier without losing their Renaissance edge. “Can’t Help Falling in Love” is a cover tune. Yep, Blackmore’s Night seems like an odd choice to cover Elvis. Even more bizarre is that the song sounds… techno. All in all, an odd fit for this album.

In short, will everyone dig Blackmore’s Night – and more specifically – Secret Voyage? The answer is, of course, a big “no.” Blackmore’s Night is a very special band, creating a very specific genre of music. Die hard Blackmore fans will likely pick up the disc, as will people who love New Age. Secret Voyage is worth a shot if you’re a Metalhead with an open mind. Try it. You might like it.


  • Allyson B. Crawford

    Allyson was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, based out of Kettering, Ohio, USA. She works as a journalist at a local television station, and has a Graduate Degree in Rhetoric and an Undergraduate Degree in English with an emphasis on British Literature. She also owns and operates, a website dedicated to the Glam Metal movement. Her first Glam tape was Poison’s Open Up and Say … Ahh! She got the cassette for Christmas when she was in fourth grade. Her passion lies somewhere between the bars and notes that created the soundtrack to the never ending Rock 'n' Roll party that was the '80s. She considers Aerosmith's Rocks and Mötley Crüe's Shout At The Devil her all-time favorite albums.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.