VARIOUS ARTISTS – Hollywood Hairspray vol. 4

VARIOUS ARTISTS - Hollywood Hairspray vol. 4


Perris Records
Release date: June 21, 2005

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Hollywood Hairspray vol. 4 is neither a collection of Hollywood bands from the 80’s as the title might allude, nor is the album a tribute to those legendary Hair Bands of old. Instead, it is a revival movement of sorts; a regeneration of pop anthems set to Rock N Roll guitars and drums with all the glam and glitter of an age gone by.

If you’re looking to revive those makeup tendencies with pretty boys making electric noise, this is your chance to see what breath of life has been added to the scene – if any?

Here is a break down of what you get on Hollywood Hairspray vol. 4.

1. “Go Go Go” by Zan Clan – An infectious groove from the moment it starts; an obvious nod to the 80’s Glam scene. Its big gang vocal style makes the track sound like a party. This is Zinny Zan (former singer of Shotgun Messiah) and his new band (Clan). The real deal, this would have fit in nicely on Friday night anywhere on the Sunset Strip.

2. “Dirty Needles” by Tigertailz – A harder-edged tune than what was typically coming out of Hollywood in the height of its Metaldom, but still retaining the catchy pre-chorus/chorus. The singer sounds like a Tom Kiefer / Kevin Dubrow disciple.

3. “Psychedelic Trippin” by Midnight Circus – Sounding a bit like Warrant when the song starts out, then turns into Ratt, mostly because of the Stephen Pearcy vocal style. Good song set to a simple rock beat with an Enuff Z’ Nuff chorus.

4. “Love Kills” by United Enemies – This track is brash and edgier than the rest of the disc, reminiscent of Love/Hate. A quick in-your-face tune that rocks.

5. “Black Heart” by The New Romantics – No relation to the original Romantics. This song is hampered with muddy guitars set to a Go-Go’s “We Got the Beat” drum line. AC/DC could make this work, but this band just sounds tired.

6. “Barflies” by On Parole – The tonality is reminiscent of Junkyard, but the voice is too generic. Everything about this song sounds uninspired.

7. “Dead Generation” by Cosmic Ballroom – Old Rock with Punk attitude and in-your-face defiance. This is a fun head-banging track.

8. “A.S.A.D.” by Vains Of Jenna – Despite the name Lizzy Devine and singing in a higher register the voice you hear does not belong to a woman. Not as grave as The Plasmatics’ Wendy O, but he is trying hard. Nothing new here but done well; makes your lips curl into the rebel sneer without even trying. They could use some production help to thicken the overall sound, though; it has that “coming from the basement” kind of sound. (Note: Thanks to Lizzy for having a sense of humor about the idiocy of journalism)

9. “Peggy Sue is Dead” by Trashcan Darlings – A Social Distortion type of song, which sounds a little too contrived, like it supposed to be old. You will probably hear this in the next teen angst movie when the hero or heroine starts realizing their life in question needs to change by challenging authority.

10. “Too Much” by Enemies SWE – Sounds like Hollywood post-Guns N’ Roses. Thick sound with catchy backing vocals. This song has a great chorus and stands out as possibly the best track on the disc.

11. “Ain’t Got Nothing On Me” by Teenage Casket Company – Thin guitar tone and poor production sink this track right from the start. The singer sounds a bit like Ron Keel but without any of the power and range. Very trite and very forgettable.

12. “Days Gone By” from the Slowpanic Sweethearts – Taime Downe vocal style done badly … just sounds like a whiny guy who can’t really sing. The melody is too predictable and the lyrics just ooze sappy unoriginal content. Possible the worst track on the disc.

13. “Rock Me On” by Baby Ruth – More Social Distortion guitar intros with a Hanoi Rocks kind of edge. Simple Party Rock done well … nothing new but you stick this between Poison’s “Look What The Cat Dragged In” and Faster Pussy Cat’s “A Bottle In Front of Me” and the party wouldn’t skip a beat.

14. “Rock Is All You Need” by Cathouse – Weak vocals and nothing new lyrically or musically. Cheesy is one thing, this is just terrible.

Here are fourteen tracks featuring the second coming of Hair Metal served up under a new European heritage. If you love the era of Junkyard, Dangerous Toys, and Love/Hate, this disc will fit very well into your collection. Perris Records has put together a very solid representation of this genre in its current incarnation. Having a sampler platter such as this should help guide discriminating listeners to the bands that are right for them.


  • Jeremy Juliano

    Jeremy was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio. He's been involved with and has been following the Metal scene since the early 1980’s. He started out his Metal journey with heavy doses of Maiden, Accept, and Saxon. And in recent years, he has enjoyed the new age of Metal with bands like Hammerfall, Edguy, and Nightwish, to name a few.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.