ANVIL – One and Only

ANVIL - One and Only cover art
  • 8/10
    ANVIL - One and Only - 8/10


Label: AFM Records
Release date: June 28, 2024

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Canadian Heavy Metal band Anvil prove there’s more to Canada than Celine Dion and Justin Bieber with their latest studio album, One and Only (2024). Produced by Martin “Mattes” Pfeiffer and Jörg Uken, it mixes past, modern, and classic Anvil influences all into one. The band covers difficult subjects, such as the downsides of modern society and the cruelties of the music industry, yet the songs are catchy, and filled with tasteful guitar riffs and loads of melody.

Great Songwriting and Tasteful Playing

The title track starts the album on a high note with a memorable chorus, a good beat, and excellent, bluesy guitar work. The “hey” chants are also a nice touch. “Fight for Your Rights” sounds like melodic Motörhead. It’s Speed Metal at its finest, vocalist/guitarist Steve “Lips” Kudlow channels Lemmy Kilmister to the best of his ability, and the bass line is killer. “Gold and Diamonds” has so much groove, only enhanced with a downright, thumping bass line.

“Truth is Dying” is a mid-tempo rocker with an AC/DC flair. The lyrics scarily tackle the downfall of modern society and how the truth keeps getting buried by other people’s lies. In a more positive manner, “Rocking the World” is about the life of a musician and living each day to the fullest. It’s a headbanger and the guitar solo is brilliant. “Condemned Liberty” is about losing freedom, due to the abuse of one’s rights.

Final Assessment

As a wrap-up, the songwriting is nicely done and the musicianship is excellent. By the way, props to drummer Robb Reiner because his kick drumming on Speed Metal tracks like “Fight for Your Rights,” “Dead Man Shoes,” and “Blind Rage” is amazing; he helps keep the momentum going throughout the album. There are no ballads on One and Only, just mid-tempo and faster tempo tracks. Whether that’s a good thing or bad thing is up to the listeners to decide. Still, it’s a solid record and like any band that’s been around since the late ‘70s / early ‘80s, it’s a relief knowing that Anvil can still kick butt late in their career.

Album Tracklist

  1. One and Only
  2. Feed Your Fantasy
  3. Fight for Your Rights
  4. Heartbroken
  5. Gold and Diamonds
  6. Dead Man Shoes
  7. Truth is Dying
  8. Rocking the World
  9. Run Away
  10. World of Fools
  11. Condemned Liberty
  12. Blind Rage

Band Lineup

Steve “Lips” Kudlow – lead vocals and guitars
Robb Reiner – drums
Chris Robertson – bass guitar and vocals


  • Lana Teramae

    Lana is a reviewer at Metal Express Radio from Honolulu, Hawaii. She's always had a passion for music, but she didn't get into Hard Rock and Heavy Metal music until she discovered Rick Allen's story in the summer of 2019. She was inspired by his determination to play drums for Def Leppard again after losing his left arm in a car accident. From there, her tastes expanded to other bands such as AC/DC, Bon Jovi, Metallica, Judas Priest, Saxon, Cinderella, and Overkill. Aside from listening to music, she loves watching YouTube and writing on her personal blog.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.