DGM – Tragic Separation

DGM - Tragic Separation
  • 9/10
    DGM - Tragic Separation - 9/10


Frontiers Music
Release date: October 9, 2020

User Review
9.5/10 (1 vote)

Italian Prog Masters Return

Italian Progressive Metal masters DGM have released their long awaited 10th studio album, Tragic Separation and the good news is it’s been well worth the wait. They got the formula right as the band ticks all the boxes of the Progressive Metal genre, but adds more of their own personal identity. DGM is an incredible group of musicians featuring Marco Basile on vocals, Simone Mularoni on all guitars, Andrea Arcangeli on the bass, Emanuele Casali on keyboards and Fabio Costantino on drums.

About the Album

Right from the start, the album erupts into manic but organized chaos, then crescendos to an epic climax only to change to a ripping cool riff that wouldn’t be out of place on any top Prog Metal album. Tragic Separation shows excellent song construction, strong vocal harmonies expertly layered to great effect. DGM shines here with every musician of soloist caliber, but working in concert to create something very special. The band is progressive, but at the same time knows when to play a straight beat to the ultimate benefit of the song, and the listener.

Favorite Tracks

Without attempting to sound cliché, every song on the album is a stand out track. From “Flesh and Blood” to “Curtain”, every track has something great to offer the listener. The band knows how to combine foot stomping beats with catchy hooks, peppered with amazing flourishes that remind of the early work of Vai and Sheehan. A resemblance to early Dream Theater in the way the band delivers a mix of heavy riffs with powerful melodies makes this album a real winner.

Final Notes

Production wise, everything is in it’s proper place as everyone is present in the mix as the vocals shine on top. Tragic Separation hits you in the face on the first listen, and never lets up. DGM have done a great job, elevating their standard once again with another expert production. Not just Prog Metal fans, but all metal fans should not waste a moment and get this album on physical media now, you won’t regret it.


Marco Basile – vocals
Simone Mularoni – guitars
Andrea Arcangeli – bass
Emanuele Casali – keyboards
Fabio Costantino – drums

Tragic Separation – Tracklist

  1. Flesh and Blood
  2. Surrender
  3. Fate
  4. Hope
  5. Tragic Separation
  6. Stranded
  7. Land of Sorrow
  8. Silence
  9. Turn Back Time
  10. Curtain


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.