CORTEZ – Sell The Future

CORTEZ - Sell The Future
  • 9/10
    CORTEZ - Sell the Future - 9/10


Salt of the Earth Records
Release date: October 23, 2020

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

The Backstory

Cortez is a Boston-based 5 piece that formed in 2006 from the ashes of several other now defunct Beantown rock bands. The group debuted with their Thunder in a Forgotten Town EP in 2007. In 2012 Cortez released their self-titled full length album and followed that with 2017’s The Depths Below. 2020 sees the release of Cortez’ third album Sell The Future.

The Album

The group kicks things off with drums and guitars roaring on “No Escape.” Matt Harrington is melodic in his delivery, but has just enough gritty rock swagger thrown in. The chorus is undeniably catchy with its “hey, hey, hey” group vocal. Guitarists Scott O’Dowd and Alasdair Swan tear it up old school style during the instrumental break. “Sell the Future” has a dark and sinister tone set by Black Sabbath-esque riffage until the tempo picks up at the halfway point.

“Look at You” has the intensity of a movie action sequence. Alexei Rodriguez‘s drum work is thunderous and unavoidable. It’s all about the Classic Rock riffs and licks on “Deceivers.” Harrington’s vocals are just as powerful and intense as the music backing him up. “Vanishing Point” has a lot of Punk sensibility with its speed and anger. The 7 minute epic “Beyond” closes out the album. The track starts off slow and clean and increases in tempo and power as it continues.

The Verdict

With Sell the Future, Cortez carries the torch for classic Hard Rock and Metal with more guitar riffs than you can handle. It’s the right balance of intensity and passion. Cortez is a little bit Black Sabbath, a little bit Armored Saint, a little bit Monster Magnet, and a little bit of the Misfits rolled into one. If Cortez is selling the future, then we should all be listening.



No Escape
Sell the Future
Look at You
Faulty Authors
Sharpen the Spear
Vanishing Point

Cortez is

Matt Harrington – Vocals
Scott O’Dowd – Guitar
Alasdair Swan – Guitar
Jay Furlo – Bass
Alexei Rodriguez – Drums


  • George Dionne

    George was a contributor here at Metal Express Radio, reviewing albums and conducting interviews, out of Massachusetts, USA. George has contributed to numerous music related websites and blogs, and even managed his own from 2004-2009. George's first assignment was covering a live show by the mighty GWAR. By contrast his later assignments featured Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Bon Jovi. George was also the front man for the South Eastern Massachusetts cover band Sound Tower from 2009-2015.  Sound Tower played 300+ shows across MA and had two original songs on the Cape Cod radio station PIXY 103. George enjoys a good whiskey, scotch, and/or bourbon and fights crime in his spare time.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.