THE SENSELESS – In The Realm Of The Senseless

THE SENSELESS - In The Realm Of The Senseless
  • 8.5/10
    THE SENSELESS - In The Realm Of The Senseless - 8.5/10


Release date: May 21, 2007

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Perhaps the most unique album ever to hit the Metal market, In the Realm of the Senseless is the debut work of The Senseless. No stranger to Grindcore or Death Metal, bassist and singer Sam Bean is famous for his work with Australian based The Berzerker. While The Senseless is a side-project, the end result is anything but an after thought.

Nearly every track on In the Realm of the Senseless is amazingly succinct. Key and tempo changes abound, as do screaming lyrics and even some melodic moments. The blast beats mimic that of a common Grindcore release, but the technical experimentation make In the Realm of the Senseless very complex and inventive.

The album opens with the bombastic “You Love It.” Clocking in at just under 90 seconds, this song pretty much sums up the entire listening experience. Loud, frenetic, and warning with interesting programming, Bean shows off his songwriting ability. Moving through the album, “Unprincipled” proves to be a stand-out track featuring an almost snappy guitar line and drumming that is lightning fast. The end is soft and unique; the absolute antithesis of the beginning. Pure genius.

The boldest move any artist can make is to record music outside of a particular comfort zone. For all his screaming and thrashing, Sam Bean knows his fans expect creativity and he gives them what they want. In the Realm of the Senseless closes with “After Happy Ever (Unmetal).” The track is more than six minutes in length and is closer to Madonna than Death Metal. This is a song you can expect to hear at your local discothèque on a Saturday night. The beats are pulsating, yet clean and the music inviting. Completely instrumental, this is a song that could actually put you to sleep during a fit of unfortunate insomnia.

There are drawbacks. As with many Grindcore releases, the vocals are hard to discern. Here, it seems the volume may need a little boost. Also, some of the tracks are sadly repetitive. Still, Hardcore fans of super Heavy Metal will enjoy In the Realm of the Senseless. This album is definitely one of the most creative releases of 2007.


Vocals, bass, guitars: Sam Bean
Guitars: Matt Wilcock

In the Realm of the Senseless tracklisting

  1. You Love It
  2. Vacation
  3. Unprincipled
  4. A Big Comedown
  5. Crippled Trash
  6. You Are Nothing
  7. Promise
  8. Wreckage
  9. Evilicious
  10. No Bombs Is Big Enough
  11. Happy Ever After
  12. After Happy Ever (Unmetal)


  • Allyson B. Crawford

    Allyson was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, based out of Kettering, Ohio, USA. She works as a journalist at a local television station, and has a Graduate Degree in Rhetoric and an Undergraduate Degree in English with an emphasis on British Literature. She also owns and operates, a website dedicated to the Glam Metal movement. Her first Glam tape was Poison’s Open Up and Say … Ahh! She got the cassette for Christmas when she was in fourth grade. Her passion lies somewhere between the bars and notes that created the soundtrack to the never ending Rock 'n' Roll party that was the '80s. She considers Aerosmith's Rocks and Mötley Crüe's Shout At The Devil her all-time favorite albums.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.