Distance of Thought - Edge of Forever album cover art.
  • 8/10
    DISTANCE OF THOUGHT - Edge of Forever - 8/10


Label: Independent
Release date: December 3, 2022

User Review
9/10 (1 vote)

Based out of Houston, Texas comes a new band Distance of Thought, bringing some excellent Power/Progressive Metal on their debut release Edge of Forever. The band was formed in 2019 by guitarist Dale Rasco (ex-Day of Reckoning) and singer Drew Brown (ex-Engineered Society Project), with keyboardist Jeff Quiggle (Wicked Waltz), bassist Tony Taylor, drummer Trenton Perry and guitarist Marc Petillon.

The Album

Edge of Forever is 10 songs of well produced Power/Prog Metal that comes in at just over 51 minutes, and has some really strong songs. The compositions all have great melodies with anthemic choruses. Singer Drew Brown delivers soaring vocals that you’d expect in this genre, with a healthy amount of emotion in the performances. The harmony guitar work of Dale Rasco and Marc Petillon remind this reviewer of Fates Warning and early Queensrÿche. Stand out tracks include the opener “Bloodmoon Rising”, the title track “Edge of Forever” and “When I See You Fall” with its excellent vocal hooks and harmonies.

Final Notes

Distance Of Thought – Edge of Forever is a very strong debut album, showing off the band’s talents for composition as well as performance. Though the band is new, the musicians are all veterans that have come together to become a solid band with lots to offer. Fans of Fates Warning, Dream Theater, Thunderstone, Symphony X, Queensrÿche, and Savatage should find plenty to enjoy on this record. Edge of Forever is definitely an album worth checking out, and shows a lot of promise for what the band does next.

Distance of Thought - band photo


Dale Rasco – Guitars
Drew Brown – Vocals
Jeff Quiggle – Keyboards
Tony Taylor – Bass
Trenton Perry – Drums
Marc Petillon – Guitars

Edge of Forever – Tracklist

01 – Blood Moon Rising
02 – Beside Myself
03 – Rise!
04 – Edge of Forever
05 – Eternal Night
06 – No Easy Way Out
07 – Touch My Name
08 – Unspoken
09 – When I See You Fall
10 – War Torn


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.