• 7/10
    THE BLACK HOUNDS - Colossus - 7/10


Unearthed Music
Release date: August 14, 2020

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Hailing from Wolverhampton, England, The Black Hounds are set to release their first full length album Colossus. The Black Hounds got their start in 2013 and released a couple of EPs along the way before a line-up change.

[Read our interview with The Black Hounds HERE]

“Colossus” is led by a meaty guitar riff that gives way to The Black Hounds unique vocal tandem. Ant employs a clean, soulful tone, while Connor drops Heavy Metal growls. This song about rising up could quite possibly be the band’s anthem after their re-grouping. “Ruthless” has a Groove Metal swagger to it thanks to Tom’s bass lines. The haunting middle section breaks up the pace before returning. Joe’s drum work cannot be ignored on “Crown of Bones.” The song could easily be about *insert your favorite hated politician here*.

The band’s first single from the album “Defy Messiah” has Ant’s melodic vocals front and center. The effort he puts into his delivery, you can tell he believes what he’s singing. “Part of the Machine” is a little more refined and commercial sounding, but still has plenty of monster riffs and screeching solos. The track eventually slows to an evil crawl before building back up. “Judgement” is a 7+ minute epic that runs the gamut of tempos and intensity.

The Black Hounds come out swinging on the mighty Colossus. The two polar opposite vocal styles do set the band apart from their contemporaries. The band’s sound is truly their own, with hints of Alice in Chains, Black Label Society, and Opeth in the mix.


  1. Intro
  2. Colossus
  3. Ruthless
  4. Crown of Bones
  5. Defy Messiah
  6. Numbered Days
  7. Part of the Machine
  8. Judgement


  • George Dionne

    George was a contributor here at Metal Express Radio, reviewing albums and conducting interviews, out of Massachusetts, USA. George has contributed to numerous music related websites and blogs, and even managed his own from 2004-2009. George's first assignment was covering a live show by the mighty GWAR. By contrast his later assignments featured Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Bon Jovi. George was also the front man for the South Eastern Massachusetts cover band Sound Tower from 2009-2015.  Sound Tower played 300+ shows across MA and had two original songs on the Cape Cod radio station PIXY 103. George enjoys a good whiskey, scotch, and/or bourbon and fights crime in his spare time.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.