Metal Express Radio Click how to Listen
Now Playing
Please Choose an option
Table Top Border
  Live Reviews
Classic Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Reviews
ACE FREHLEY

ACE FREHLEY
Space Invader

ACCEPT

ACCEPT
Blind Rage

DRAGONFORCE

DRAGONFORCE
Maximum Overload

BLACK TRIP

BLACK TRIP
Goin' Under

KIX

KIX
Rock Your Face Off

AGNOSTIC FRONT (Live)

AGNOSTIC FRONT (Live)
The Think Tank, Newcastle (UK) August 14, 2014

THE REBELLION FESTIVAL

THE REBELLION FESTIVAL
The Winter Gardens, Blackpool (UK) August 7-10, 20

BIOHAZARD (Live)

BIOHAZARD (Live)
Trillians, Newcastle (UK) - August 12, 2014

GREG PRATO

GREG PRATO
Overlooked

VARGA

VARGA
Return Of The Metal

See More
 
Reviews
Commercial Link

SOUL DOCTOR - Blood Runs Cold
Metal Heaven

Metal Express Rating: 8.5/10

Release Date: 2007-09-28

by: ALLYSON B. CRAWFORD

Email: allyson@metalexpressradio.com

BUY

write/read comments

Metal Heaven If you need a cure for mundane Metal, then the doctor is in -- Soul Doctor, that is. The German band has just released Blood Runs Cold, a 10-track effort in the vein of Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, or Cheap Trick. The lofty comparisons make sense: Deep Purple bandmates Joe Lynn Turner and Glenn Hughes lent their songwriting talents to Soul Doctor. Formed by singer Tommy Heart and guitarist Chris Lyne at the end of the 1990s, the music is a mix of European sensibilities and American guitar style. Somehow, it works.

The title track kicks off the album, but things pick up with “Temptation.” In many ways, “Temptation” is the high point of Blood Runs Cold, but that isn’t to say the album peaks at track number two. “Temptation” is high quality, Blues-based Rock. Great lyrics and even better vocals make the song. Heart has an amazing voice, and he hits both lower and upper registers on “Temptation.” Perhaps best of all, the song utilizes a lengthy guitar solo akin to most Classic Rock tracks. Yes, there is a whammy bar, but there is also immense skill here.

After the upbeat pace of “Temptation,” Soul Doctor slows down just a little for “Laugh In The Face Of Danger.” The song is still a rocker, in a slower tempo and lower key. The bass is very audible and that compliments Heart’s voice. Perhaps above all else, Soul Doctor know how to create songs that work with their vocalist. This gives Blood Runs Cold a very cohesive feel. “Laugh In The Face Of Danger” also features a killer guitar solo. It doesn’t overpower the song, but makes it more complete -– a delicate balance for any band.

While getting to the midpoint of Blood Runs Cold, “F.A.F.O.D.” sounds just like Led Zeppelin. As a matter of fact, there’s even an intro almost identical to the very famous “Black Dog.” “F.A.F.O.D.” is a good tune, but not as good as “The Ocean.” In fact, “The Ocean” is as good as it gets on Blood Runs Cold. Here, you get strings, acoustic guitars, emotional lyrics, and yes -- ocean sounds. If Soul Doctor has a power ballad to offer, then it’s “The Ocean.” Composed in the vein of classic Kansas, (think a modern day “Dust In The Wind”) this is the song that makes you flick your lighter.

Blood Runs Cold closes with “Revolution,” “Justine,” and “Youngblood.” The latter has guitars in the vein of Tesla, but the vocals are pretty unique to Soul Doctor. Perhaps the best thing about this band is the ability to utilize so many different influences while keeping a distinctive sound. Just maybe Blood Runs Cold will push Soul Doctor into the mainstream.

For more information, please visit:
Myspace.com/SoulDoctorRock


Bookmark and Share

User Comments


Posted by Rune B on 10/10/2007 17:14:26

I can only agree with Frank on this one. And funny you should mention Blood Runs Cold and FAFOD with Zeppelin, as it didn't occur to me until I read this review, but those were the only two tracks I kinda liked. As for Hammer... relax. No reviewer ever claimed to be objective. We all have different tastes. If we were all alike we'd be listening to the Top 40 or whatever.


Posted by Frank Jaeger (MER) on 08/10/2007 00:48:49

Just ignore it, Chris. There'll always be disputes about opinions. In sharp contrast to Mr. Hammer here, we all do respect and appreciate different opinions. This was the right album for Allyson, and it was okay for me (5.5 is still above average, if one can do the math). If somebody does not agree, the internet provides ample opportunities to voice a different opinion. Unfortunately, the internet does not require style, nor decency. The only thing I did not understand is the "you only support and dig your own releases". What are you talking about, Mr. Hammer? I may be getting old, but as far as I know I never released an album... or I must have been really, really drunk, in which case I can only ask everybody to ignore it. Please.


Posted by Chris on 07/10/2007 07:05:45

Yo Hammer, insulting people via internet is sooooo easy, cause you don´t have to be afraid to get beat up! This record did just not bring it in his opinion and he did not insult allyson for her different point of view. So calm down man!


Posted by The Hammer on 06/10/2007 09:23:56

Fuck you, Frank Jaeger. I am sure you only support and dig your own releases. We all know you, pal. This is the fourth studio offering from Soul Doctor, and to be honest this is the album that should send them to super star status all over the world. Ten songs, and not a filler in sight, which in its self is a rare thing these days. Right from the off set this collection of songs has class and style stamped all over it. From the title track of Blood Runs Cold to the album closer of Mr Youngblood you can not fail to be impressed with the music. Blue's, classic rock, Power Ballads, its all here, and every one a gem. Tommy Heart puts in an almost perfect performance along with the guitar playing of Chris Lyne, just listen to The Lie, to see how well they work off each other Aerosmith, Tesla, Thunder, can all be heard here, and the fact that Soul Doctor still manage to keep their own sound in amongst those influence's can only stand as testament to how good this band are. If you close your eye's you can almost see those full arena's, and yes, complete with lighter's being waved in the dark. When 2007 comes to an end this CD will easily be in my top 5.


Posted by Frank Jaeger (MER) on 05/10/2007 15:10:12

While definitely not a bad album, it did not give me that much. I found it a bit too predictable, and the all present citations of old heroes are just too obvious sometimes. Cool album, still, for the oldfashioned Rock fan, and an at least average piece of Music - okay - so maybe a 5.5 for me as I found it to get slightly boring after a few spins. So I put on the original stuff instead: Led Zeppelin, Boston, Kansas. And guess what: I liked it better...

No Facebook account? Add your own comment by selecting here

See All See All See All
  Dj Offline
Requests
Donate
Weekly Metal Express Newsletter



Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Support
Search the Metal Express Web Site


Information

Follow us at

Metal Express Radio on FacebookMetal Express Radio on TwitterMetal Express Radio on YouTube 

Tune in at

15:00/21:00 CET

9:00 a.m./3:00 p.m. EST

to hear the following shows:

 

MONDAY:

BEFORE THEY CALLED IT HEAVY METAL ... '70s HARD ROCK REVISITED

 

TUESDAY:

HAIRBANGER'S HAIRSPRAY SHOW

 

WEDNESDAY:

THRASH ZONE

 

THURSDAY:

TBA

 

FRIDAY:

GUEST DJ HOUR

 

Artists / Labels

Find out how to get your music featured on Metal Express Radio here!

 

What You'll Find Here

- New reviews posted weekly

- News section updated daily

- Streaming audio interviews on-demand

- Live pictures of the best bands in Metal

- Huge backstage photo gallery

- Weekly E-Newsflash to keep you updated!

- Visit Metal Express.no to tap into the largest, most diversified, and best continuous Metal Stream on the net! Live DJ's, Requests played, and Station IDs from many of your favorite bands and artists!

 
Table Bottom Border
Tune In Reviews Interviews News Pictures Radio Links Crew About How to Listen