Metal Express Radio Click how to Listen
Now Playing
Please Choose an option
Table Top Border
  Live Reviews
Classic Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Reviews
DOWN `N` OUTZ (Live)

DOWN `N` OUTZ (Live)
Live at The Riverside, Newcastle (UK) 14 Dec 2014

SPACE VACATION

SPACE VACATION
Cosmic Vanguard

RENEGADE

RENEGADE
Thunder Knows No Mercy

WRETCH

WRETCH
Warriors

MICHAEL SCHENKER (Live)

MICHAEL SCHENKER (Live)
O2 Academy, Newcastle (UK) 12.10.2014

DREADFUL MINDS

DREADFUL MINDS
Love Hate Lies

AC/DC

AC/DC
Rock Or Bust

BLOODBOUND

BLOODBOUND
Stormborn

NIGHTGLOW

NIGHTGLOW
Orpheus

SARPEDON

SARPEDON
Anomic Nation

See More
 
Reviews
Commercial Link

JUDAS PRIEST - QUEENSRYCHE (LIVE) - Chicago, Illinois, USA
June 3, 2005

by: DAN 'SOFT BOY' SKIBA

Email: SoftBoy (at) MetalExpressRadio.com

write/read comments

June 3, 2005 On a sticky-cool Chicago, Illinois, USA evening, Judas Priest and Queensryche – two of the heaviest of heavyweights in the history of Heavy Metal – played to an enthusiastic, if not nostalgic, Metal-thirsty crowd estimated at 10,000. Chicago is the 3rd largest city in the USA, and the local radio there generally supports Metal acts … especially Classic Metal acts … so both bands knew that this, their third show on the USA leg of the tour, was one of their more important stops that they would encounter.

Taking a step back … has there ever been a better one-two punch on paper in the Metal world on a FULL tour together than Judas Priest and Queensryche? Both bands have walked the walk, talked the talk, and have enjoyed immense success over the years … along with weathering the storm through some tough and uncertain times, both internally as bands and within the music industry as a whole. To the benefit of the Metal community (especially the older generation), both bands still have a passion for what they do and represent, along with an engrained know-how of what it takes to put on a show and to deliver an entertaining product in a 'classy' environment.

On a quick side note, the Tweeter Center may have been the ideal place for such a powerful twin bill to demonstrate their continued prowess … this place is nothing short of phenomenal! It’s a 28,000 capacity outdoor venue (about 16,000 covered seats with the remainder comprised of general admission lawn seating), complete with the latest sound and video technology, 2 layers of corporate suites perched high above the seats and accessible via enclosed catwalks, and one incredibly large stage. The Tweeter Center is as awe-inspiring as a concert ticket featuring possibly the two best, most complete vocalists in the history of the genre. Bottom line -- if you ever get a chance to see a Metal show at this venue … don’t pass it up!

Now on to the shows …

QUEENSRYCHE:
Like a stranger in the night walking out from beneath the shadows, the guitarists Michael Wilton and Mike Stone (the newest and most radical band member), waltzed suddenly onto the stage, catching the audience a little by surprise, to play an intro as a prelude to “The Whisper;” the song that kicked off the Queensryche set. A good thing to see, which only happens when a stalwart such as Queensryche serves as the opening act, was that essentially the entire audience was already in their seats, rather than half of them hanging out in the parking lot to party, or simply just showing up late to catch only the headlining act. Nope, not this audience … and it sent a clear message about how grateful this crowd felt for the opportunity to be part of this soon-to-be memorable event.

Wilton-Stone - Queensryche
Geoff Tate entered the stage last during “The Whisper,” dressed fashionably in black, wearing even more fashionable specs, and although a bit mysteriously subdued at the beginning, was immediately on top of his game vocally. The man can flat out sing, and was totally in tune with respect to both the high and low spectrums of his voice -- he seemed to be on a “serious” mission of sorts right from the start. It wasn’t until Queensryche was 7 songs into their 14-song set, with “Desert Dance,” that Tate began to let his emotions effervesce … but once he did, there was no holding back, and it was pretty evident that he, along with the rest of the band, still loved what they were doing and were prepared to continue putting “their all” into the performance.

Musically, the band was tight, however, the set list was a bit surprising. 9 of their 14 songs were from their first 3 albums, with Operation Mindcrime and Empire, their 2 best known records, only briefly touched on via “The Needle Lies” and “Empire,” respectively. Queensryche’s latest album, Tribe, was represented by the aforementioned “Desert Dance” and the killer track “Open,” which was introduced by Tate as a song directed towards those who become less and less open minded with age.

The crowd went berserk when Tate announced that the next studio album was circling towards completion (entitled Mindcrime 2), and Queensryche went on to perform a track called “I’m American” from that forthcoming thematic album, which was very well received. “Empire” enjoyed a thunderous response from the audience, along with the final song of the set, “Take Hold Of The Flame,” and Tate’s comments leading into it – “This is a song about hope … and boy we need a lot of that these days!” – met up with a huge roar from the appreciative audience.

Overall, Queensryche played a fine show … the set list was definitely more aligned for old-time, serious fans of the band, being that most of their more recognizable hits were left off this time around, but Tate and company showed great Metal maturity on stage and played a flawless set from start to finish. A true treat from the “opening act” of the evening!

Queensryche Set List (60 minutes)
The Whisper * En Force * Neue Regel * NM 156 * Screaming In Digital * Open * Desert Dance * Queen Of The Reich/Nightrider/Blinded Medley * Walk In The Shadows * The Needle Lies * I’m American * Surgical Strike * Empire * Take Hold Of The Flame

JUDAS PRIEST:
As the sun set in Midwest, USA at precisely 9 :00 p.m., the lights went black at the Tweeter Center to the delight of the crowd, and the now customary opener by these stage legends, “The Hellion/Electric Eye” blasted through the speakers, signifying the Metal Gods themselves had again returned to bestow on this worthy crowd an onslaught of Heavy Metal of the highest quality. Compared to last summer’s tour with Ozzfest (read the review by clicking here), the stage set was much more intricate … Priest implemented a U-shaped platform perched about 10 feet (roughly 3 meters) above the stage, supported by a silver Priest cross symbol on each side, with a lift in the back of the drums, several different stage backdrops, very cool lighting emanating from both above and on the stage, and, of course, tons and tons of stage smoke !

Tipton - Judas Priest
The Metal Gods played very tightly this evening, and with great enthusiasm, especially from guitarists K.K. Downing and Glenn Tipton, who were clearly into the boisterous crowd reception all night, and were all over the stage. Ian Hill even seemed to be a bit livelier than in the past for this show. The set list included some welcomed change-ups this time around, with Priest including such “lost” classics as Screaming For Vengeance’s “Riding On The Wind,” “Turbo Lover” from the almost forgotten Turbo album, and “Exciter” from the once controversial Stained Class release. Even Ram It Down, the most underrated Priest record, was represented in the mix with “I’m A Rocker!” Four songs were played from Angel Of Retribution, “Judas Rising,” the first single “Revolution,” the historically relevant “Deal With The Devil,” and the “Painkiller” sequel, of sorts, “Hellrider” … you kind of got the feeling, as a side note, that the fans were ready to hear a few more choice cuts from this potential "Album of the Heavy Metal Year," but, as Halford explained at one juncture during the show, Priest has put out so much quality Metal throughout the years, it becomes more and more difficult with each new tour to determine what to include/exclude from the set list. The customary practice of pretending the album Rocka Rolla never existed continued, but surprisingly no representation was made during this evening from Point Of Entry and Defenders Of The Faith.

Other than the highly energetic Harley entrance by Halford to start the encore set and “Hell Bent For Leather,” highlights during the evening rolled out aplenty. The acoustic “Diamonds & Rust” version, crescendo-ing into an electric ending, was performed in excellent fashion, Tipton’s solo during “Beyond The Realms Of Death” was out of this world, and the fact that Halford can still sing like a wild banshee out on parole clearly made lasting impressions. However, the most memorable aspect of the 2-hour set was the incredible play of drummer Scott Travis. The sound engineers seemed to have his volume up a bit too high for the 4 new tracks off of Angel Of Retribution (possibly just growing pains), but throughout the concert, Travis played and toyed with his drum kit as if he was “in the zone.” Using a Chicago metaphor, basketball legend Michael Jordan used to take the game to a new level … he was made for the sport, was totally comfortable in a basketball environment, and was in complete command of the court from the second he laced up his sneakers. Travis showed similar traits during this show. He melded with his drum kit, never missed a beat even though much of his work was frightfully complex, and assumed a hand-in-glove relationship with the proverbial backbone of each tune in a way that made you just absorb his remarkable musicianship, take a step backwards, and let out a big "WOW" at the conclusion of each song. He was that good …

The crowd was completely into this show from the get-go, and after the set wrapped up with “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’,” the Metal Maniacs simply would not stop screaming for more … hoping the Metal Gods still had a song or 2 more up their sleeves. The planned set was complete, however, and even though you got the feeling the band was talking amongst themselves of possibly throwing another bone to this appreciative audience, 11 :00 p.m. curfew rules govern in the Chicago area, and the band eventually had no choice but to bid their final adieus and leave the stage … in the end, better to leave the audience craving for more than to burn them out, eh?

Overall, Judas Priest took their Reunion Tour of last year to another level on this go around … and the crowd certainly left this show on a high knowing that the future of Metal will again be greatly influenced both in the studio and on stage by these Metal Icons. Long Live The Priest!

Judas Priest Set List (120 minutes)
Hellion/Electric Eye * Metal Gods * Riding On The Wind * A Touch Of Evil * Judas Rising * Revolution * Breaking The Law * I’m A Rocker * Diamonds & Rust * Deal With The Devil * Beyond The Realms Of Death * Turbo Lover * Hellrider * Victim Of Changes * Exciter * Painkiller * Hell Bent For Leather * Living After Midnight * You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’

Web sites: www.JudasPriest.com & www.Queensryche.com

Bookmark and Share

User Comments


Posted by Frank Castro on 07/09/2007 20:55:18

Saw the Priest in late 70's,hell bent,with only 900 people in Denver,with a stuped band motorhead,the priest rules i'm 51 now and still luv them,they are heavyMETAL..Frank in AZ


Posted by 1 on 27/12/2006 09:41:29

my first concert ever at the age of twelve was screaming for vengeance.It was loud and better than imagined.La Crosse wisconsin was very fortunate to host this event.You must get the dvd because if you missed this show,you now cwe me! djg


Posted by chris on 16/02/2006 19:22:03

SAW THE PRIEST IN WINNIPEG ON OCTOBER 18/05......NOBODY HAS A VOICE THAT I HAVE EVER HEARD THAT COULD TOUCH HALFORD'S.....HE HIT NOTES...CHILDSPLAY FOR THIS TALENTED SOUL.....FROM THE OPENING SONG OF ANTHRAX....TO THE LAST SONG FROM JUDAS......EVERY RIVETHEAD WAS ON THEIR FEET PUMPIMG THEIR FISTS AT THE M.T.S CENTER....FULL ON ASSAULT....BETTER THAN WHEN I SAW METALLICA DO MASTER OF PUPPETS OR THE CRUE EARLIER IN THE YEAR AT THE M.T.S CENTER......BY THE WAY WAS RIGHT SNOTTY..JUDAS PRIEST ARE THE BEST AT WHAT THEY DO...GENRE.....THEY GIVE 110 PER CENT TO THEIR FANS....ALSO....THE FANS IN WHIPANEGG.....THE MOST RABID...HUNGRY FANS I HAVE SEEN IN MY MANY YEARS ON THIS EARTH....IT MAKES IT EASIER FOR A BAND TO FEED OFF THIS....IT IS ALL GOOD....THE OPENING ACT ARE ARTISTS ....FRIENDS AND WELCOME GUESTS IN THE HOUSE OF THE MOOSE...THANK YOU WINNIPEG FOR SHOWING ME THAT YOU ARE THE BEST AUDIENCES I HAVE EVER SHARED CONCERTS WITH.....THANK YOU JUDAS FOR RISING....I WOULD PAY TO SEE YOU AGAIN TOMMOROW.....LONG LIVE OROCK AND ROLL.....CHEERS


Posted by Chris on 29/01/2006 20:24:39

I was at that concert and it was my first one that i have been to and all i can can say is WOW they were great. It was for myt graduation gift. I got Glen tipton's guitar pick after the show. Then for my grad present I got a poster signed by them all. They kicked some ass Keep on rocken!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted by md1210 on 29/12/2005 22:51:24

Really great that the band are back together again....they really have been ahead of their time with every move.....and the new album is as good as the old stuff with a unique twist....the professionalism/musicianship of this band is really incredible.....I wish them health and strentgh......


Posted by Steven.z on 06/12/2005 15:00:28

As they would still have there looks and style they still pulled it off JUDAS PRIEST and theire tour has shocked many new fans. thats really nuthing new...


Posted by Tee on 25/10/2005 22:11:17

Just saw them in Vernon, British Columbia. What a show!!! Rob was amazing, the whole band was amazing. Worth the drive! Worth every penny! Thank you Judas Priest for showing up in a small interior of B.C. town. We loved every minute of it.


Posted by Cid on 21/10/2005 01:38:50

Saw Priest last Wednesday in Montreal. Flew from Cape Breton Island to see them, but was worth every penny. Halford's vocals were amazing, and the band was super tight. Very disappointed I didn't get to hear manalishi, headed out to the highway and love bites. Also would have been incredible had they played rocka rolla but hey, I'm just happy I finally got to see them live. The crowd was a bit on the small side, but was still pretty loud.


Posted by SpaceAce on 18/10/2005 20:39:38

Saw them last Wed. the 12 of Oct. in Montreal. Sat 10th row, Awesome is all I can say. The boys are still on top of their game, top form !!! From what I remember, this was the setlist; The Hellion (TAPE) Electric Eye Metal Gods Riding On The Wind Touch Of Evil (Another Tape intro) Judas Is Rising Revolution Breaking The Law I’m A Rocker Acoustic Version of Diamonds and Rust Beyond The Realms Of Death Turbo Lover Hellrider Vicitim Of Changes Encore Set; Hell Bent For Leather Living After Midnight Another Thing Coming Anthrax was one of if not the tightest band I ever saw live, the drummer in this band is.......F%^$#@&$*^(^%(%(%(%%(&^(&^(&^&*^*^&)*).........;> here's a little article from an local Ottawa paper, enjoy; Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing still isn't sure why singer Rob Halford left the influential British metal band. The unceremonious departure happened almost 15 years ago and left the rest of the group reeling. At the time, Halford reportedly cited "internal conflict." Now that the band is back together, with a successful comeback album and an ongoing tour that stops in Ottawa Friday, the lost years of Judas Priest's existence are beginning to fade into history. But back in the day, the split caused shockwaves among headbangers around the world. By playing harder, faster and louder than anyone else, and wearing more leather and studs, the band helped define the genre of heavy metal. Screamer Halford and fleet-fingered Downing, along with bassist Ian Hill, guitarist Glenn Tipton and drummer Scott Travis, were worshipped as metal gods. Their playing influenced everyone from Iron Maiden and Metallica to Canada's Exciter band. While Halford pursued a solo career, Priest eventually regrouped with a new singer, Tim "Ripper" Owens, who had been the front man in a Priest tribute act (see the movie Rock Star for more on that part of the story). The plot thickened in 1998 when Halford came out of the closet, leading to speculation that he may have dumped his old mates before they discovered his orientation. Not so, Downing said in a recent phone interview. "Honestly, with my hand on my heart, if there was any internal conflict, it was never made known within the band," says the 53-year-old who co-founded the band in Birmingham in 1969. "To this day, it was always a mystery to me why Rob left. "We knew, of course, that he was gay. We pretty much grew up together, had been through everything and we'd always known that Rob was gay, and it didn't have any effect on us in any way." So perhaps the internal conflict took place within Halford's own soul? "I think that was kind of what it was, really," Downing says. "It must have been a hell of a lot of pressure." Still, there were no group hugs when the bandmates decided to get back together a couple of years ago. No therapist was called in to help the musicians deal with lingering tension or sort out interpersonal conflicts. Downing laughs at the suggestion of a Metallica-style exchange of feelings to clear the air. "Definitely not. We're British, you know. We like to think we can brunt it out. We just got into a room and just regressed as if nothing had happened. We just let it happen naturally." The ultimate result of this restorative creative process was Angel of Retribution, the band's first new studio disc in four years, widely considered by metalheads to be Priest's best work since 1990's Painkiller. "There was obviously a lot of pressure on this album," Downing says. "We were always a little tentative, wondering whether it was going to stack up to be what the people really expected from us. I think the more it took shape, the more confident we felt that our fans would warm to the record." Thanks in large part to their old cohort, Ozzy Osbourne, a reunited Priest came back to find the metal scene healthier than ever. They co-headlined the 2004 Ozzfest tour, and were delighted to discover that fans hadn't forgotten them. Even better, there was a whole new generation of kids itching to mosh along to songs like You've Got Another Thing Coming and Hell Bent for Leather. "It's still guaranteed that Priest has a great following," says Downing. "Time moves on, and obviously people take their music with them. They're not suddenly going to start listening to jazz or classical music just because they're of a certain age. "There's a perception that you should mellow out and do what your predecessors did, but that's not the case and it never will be. If you were a fan of Jimi Hendrix or the Cream or Black Sabbath or Judas Priest or whoever it is, you take your music with you through life, don't you?" he says, "even though you might not always admit it to your next-door neighbour. "But the great thing is now, we've got the best of it all because people are bringing their nieces, nephews, sons, daughters, even grandkids to the show. There's a new interest, probably because of the Ozzfest going on for quite some years. Parents are saying, 'You think that's metal, you want to come and see a good band.' "Obviously, with Rob back in the band, things are much bigger and better and more the way they used to be."


Posted by Spawn of Cthulhu on 12/10/2005 17:33:57

Saw them last Friday at the Tsongas Arena in Lowell, MA. As a long-time Priest fan (since 91), all I can say is "WOW". It was literally a dream come true for me. Only mild disappointments: no "Metal Gods", "Green Manalishi", "Hell Bent For Leather", or "The Sentinel"...?! Still, JP have still got it.


Posted by gary on 07/10/2005 04:17:52

just returned from the marriot in CT where we got to meet Rob Glen KK Ian and Scott. the guys were great pictures, autographs a real CLASS ACT oh yeah and then they ROCKED the shit out of bridgeport Ct. ITS WEDNESDAY NIGHT AND THE PRIEST IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!>>


Posted by gary on 06/10/2005 02:09:25

I grew up listening to Judas Priest. My favorite cd in my collection is the greatest hits 73 - 93. I was in attendance at their Mark of the Quad Cities tour. I thought it was great to actually see them in person. Watching KK was poetry in motion with a kick of dynamite. That guy can whale on a guitar. I am impressed looking at the number of tour stops and how you guys can be so energetic day after day. I am going to pick up your recent cd.


Posted by G on 06/10/2005 02:01:56


Posted by Valerie on 04/10/2005 12:13:59

Oh yeah, forgot to add that Halford...wow...that man can still howl! I was thoroughly impressed. I haven't seen them play live since Screaming for Vengeance tour. Priest still ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted by Valerie on 04/10/2005 12:12:41

Just saw Priest Sunday night at the Mark of the Quad Cities. Was kinda disappointing to see such a small turnout, but then again this is a small area. Also, soooo wished I coulda seen Queensryche vs. Anthrax.........go figure they stopped somewhere around the Chicago show.


Posted by Marshall & Sharon on 30/09/2005 00:15:49

Champaign,Illinois 9/27/05 Delivering the goods is exactly what JUDAS PRIEST did this tuesday night. The most metal this town has ever heard. The band,the music,the show was nothing but world class. We want to thank the Priest for coming to Champaign,and giving us the opportunity to experience these legendary musician's.


Posted by Behrens on 28/09/2005 19:33:42

I saw them in Champaign, Illinois. The absolute best show I have ever seen. The show truly gives testament that Priest is the best band there is and ever will be.


Posted by tony from owensboro,ky. on 22/09/2005 08:07:38

i hear it is awesome.haven't seen them since the RAM IT DOWN tour in memphis.i will give a report when i am back ,god i can't wait to see ANTHRAX.first concert experience in cincinnati


Posted by your mother on 22/09/2005 07:44:38

going to see them on october 23, i am totally stoked not only to see PRIEST but also ANTHRAX!! w00t!!


Posted by NEED SETLIST FOR QUEENSRYCHE 05 on 21/09/2005 17:07:55

Need setlist when Queensryche 05 tour when they are headlining without the Prest. Im going to the Nashville show in Sept.


Posted by HAWK on 06/09/2005 01:49:17

THE BEST METAL SHOW I EVER BEEN...HALFORD AWESOME, GLENN AND K.K. GUITARS IN PERFECT HARMONY, POUNDING RITHM WITH SCOTT AND IAN, KEEP ROCKING!!! FROM MEXICO CITY.


Posted by Frankyboy79 on 03/09/2005 22:12:01

Saw the Mighty Priest in Milan during the 2005 European Tour: SPEECHLESS!!! Even though, I'd have expected them to play some track from "Defenders of the Faith" such as Freewheel Burning, Jawbreaker, The Sentinel or Love Bites. However, I can't live without them, so check them out in concert asap. Ciao Metallians...


Posted by Guido (Switzerland) on 01/09/2005 03:06:22

Hi all I saw the "Metal Gods" in Vienna (Austria). It was a perfekt show!!! Enjoy the Priest-Shows. They will not disappoint you!!! "PRIEST,PRIEST,PRIEST..."


Posted by miriam1982 on 25/08/2005 21:19:59

dammit! can´t believe soon i´ll be in the mosh, just in front of Judas!!! buenos aires´s gonna burrrrrrnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!


Posted by Victor on 25/08/2005 19:01:36

Great review of the show. I'm about to see Judas Priest in Mexico city next week and I can see it's a great show, but I can't believe they don't play The Sentinel or any other of the Defenders album, but Judas Priest rules anyway!!!!!!


Posted by screaming 4 more on 21/08/2005 15:36:18

seen priest in dallas that was a kick ass show cant wait to see them again no one can do it better there is no band better not even black sabbath long live the priest


Posted by DieHard on 19/08/2005 04:26:16

I've worshipped at the altar of the Metal Gods many times. Point of Entry, Screaming for Vengance, Pain Killer, 2005 Ozzfest Reunion and Angel of Retribution this year in Hershey PA. I'll see them again in Kalamazoo, MI, in a few weeks. There is no comparison between Priest and any other band when it comes to liver performance. Halford, Tipton, Downing, Hill, and Travis are a magical combination and I'm absolutely delighted to see them back together and producing ultimate metal once again.


Posted by J P on 17/08/2005 08:40:27

Saw Them Two Times Once In 84 Again In 2005 Totaly Asome Never Missed A Beat . Helford Rocks Should Of Never Broke Up


Posted by on 15/08/2005 22:49:12


Posted by jeff on 07/08/2005 03:19:12

saw them at nissan pavillion in june.what can i say, priest kicks ass.going again to atlantic city.


Posted by sixstringb71 on 30/07/2005 06:28:45

Judas Priest are the reason I started playing guitar. I saw them at Hershey Park stadium on the Ram it Down tour. That night changed my life forever. Their style of Metal is unlike any other. I would argue the fact that they blow away Black Sabbath any day. Long live the Priest!!!


Posted by Johnny B Good on 25/07/2005 23:41:47

I luv the Priest, but I'd wish they didn't play Living After Midnight, United and You've Got Another Thing Comin'. Boooooring!


Posted by Paul Rubino on 25/07/2005 01:20:28

Saw them in San Francisco, with what was probably the same set. Excellent show, but I'm really sick of Living After Midnight. I hate that song and wish they'd have done Worth Fighting For instead from the new album. Also, Defenders is one of my fav all-time albums and I hated Turbo and Ram It Down. They could have dropped the two songs from those albums and done two from Defenders instead. Great show though. If you haven't seen them, see them. Queensryche was a good opening act.


Posted by Brandon on 24/07/2005 23:33:48

I Saw this show two days later at DTE Energy Music Center in Detroit. I'm pretty sure the set list was exactly the same, and the show you described was the same. Nonetheless, it was spectacular. Arguably the best metal concert of the summer (if you don't count Gigantour and Ozzfest :))


Posted by james johnson on 24/07/2005 08:26:17


Posted by elvis on 17/07/2005 00:57:01

i drove 1200 miles to denver to see the metal gods in action first time since painkiller. well worth the drive. i agree these two bands kicked major ass. i fond myself many times in a state of euphoria just admiring who ken downing and glen tipton worked together with the dual axe action. scott travis is quite an asset to the band i believe it to be difficult to find a drummer with his talents. ian we love you bro great job on the beat. i am most excited to rob is back in the line up. though when seperate halford and priest created some awesome kick ass tunes probably a bit more aggressive the judas priest w/halford. the show was great recently priest have released dates for the second us tour in which they are coming to my town and yes my metal friends i will be going again


Posted by Don B on 16/07/2005 07:51:53

Saw the priest at the florida fair grounds in Tampa.The greatest show ever!,nothing in music compares to the priest.Halford ,Tipton ,KK ,and Ian took it to a whole new level and travis kicked ass.Long live the Metal Godz .


Posted by ray rocker on 15/07/2005 07:16:30

just saw the show last week in san antonio, the show was nothing short of a full metal god flashback that was nothing short of nirvana. All the new bands need to learn from the master. A rockfest old school style, with the audience singing along at full strength, do not miss this show. I was blown away when rob sang (stand fight for) "exciter!", a rock & roll fantasy show, timeless.


Posted by don c on 12/07/2005 23:47:52

wow what a show in vegas!! i had forgotten what a loud bunch of metal maniacs Judast Priest are. from the kick ass drums to Rob's voice, it was a night i'll never forget. thx guys and comeback soon!!


Posted by ThisDyingSoul on 24/06/2005 01:33:54

Taking a trip from Houston To San Antonio. Houston SUCKS for metal. Can't wait to see these two legendary bands together.


Posted by Toni Ely on 21/06/2005 16:13:36

It's Tuesday morning and I am just starting to come back to reality after Saturday night at the Tweeter Center in Camden. It had been awhile since I had seen them, and I had forgotten what a totally "religious" experience a Priest concert can be. Long live Priest - NOBODY does it better!


Posted by Michelle on 21/06/2005 16:05:33

I saw them at the Nissan Pavillion 2 days ago and I still have them ringing in my ears....This was truly one of the Best shows EVER.................


Posted by RK-Blasphemous on 17/06/2005 17:29:40

Cant wait to see the show tomorrow in Camden. It'll be a killer night


Posted by Ed Lubinsky on 16/06/2005 23:15:58

Saw them in Hershey last night--only 1 word to say WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted by Metal Mark on 15/06/2005 17:27:43

Oh, yeah...we'll be in Hershey tonight, too! Thanks for the great review; I'm really REALLY amped for this concert. Only 8 hours 'til showtime...


Posted by Don Shaeffer on 15/06/2005 03:00:47

I was already feeling like a kid on christmas eve, waiting for tomorrow's show in Hershey, PA. But after reading the set lists, I hope I dont spontaneously combust before the concert!!!


Posted by M-K on 13/06/2005 18:22:27

You and me both. Sounds like a dream come true.


Posted by Christine Olivia on 11/06/2005 04:50:13

I wish I was there! It sounds like an awesome show.

No Facebook account? Add your own comment by selecting here

See All See All See All
  Dj Offline
Requests
Donate
Weekly Metal Express Newsletter



Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Support
Search the Metal Express Web Site


Information

Follow us at

Metal Express Radio on FacebookMetal Express Radio on TwitterMetal Express Radio on YouTube 

 

Download our app for Android here

Metal Express Radio app for Android

 

Tune in at

15:00/21:00 CET

9:00 a.m./3:00 p.m. EST

to hear the following shows:

 

MONDAY:

BEFORE THEY CALLED IT HEAVY METAL ... '70s HARD ROCK REVISITED

 

TUESDAY:

HAIRBANGER'S HAIRSPRAY SHOW

 

WEDNESDAY:

THRASH ZONE

 

THURSDAY:

TBA

 

FRIDAY:

GUEST DJ HOUR

 

Artists / Labels

Find out how to get your music featured on Metal Express Radio here!

 

What You'll Find Here

- New reviews posted weekly

- News section updated daily

- Streaming audio interviews on-demand

- Live pictures of the best bands in Metal

- Huge backstage photo gallery

- Weekly E-Newsflash to keep you updated!

- Visit Metal Express.no to tap into the largest, most diversified, and best continuous Metal Stream on the net! Live DJ's, Requests played, and Station IDs from many of your favorite bands and artists!

 
Table Bottom Border
Tune In Reviews Interviews News Pictures Radio Links Crew About How to Listen